Pharmacy Department

Pharm. Rahman M. Afolabi


The Pharmacy department, headed by Pharm. Rahman M. Afolabi the Director of Pharmaceutical Services, is the only department approved and licensed to ensure that pharmaceutical products are available in the hospital through the process of procurement, storage, delivery, inventory control and quality assurance. The department is made up of 23 decentralized units, with 18 at the permanent site and 5 in the outstations, comprising:

1) Administrative                                  Unit

2) Main Pharmacy stores

3) Main Pharmacy                                   Unit

4) Family Medicine                                               

 5) In-Patient                                              

6) Accident and Emergency                   

7) Obstetrics and Gynaecology             

8) NHIS                                                       

9) HAART/DOTS                                       

10) EPU                                                        

11) OPRF                                                     

12) Bhavioural Sciences                            

13) VIP                                                          

14) Compounding                                       

15) Pharmacovigillance                          

16) Drug Information                              

17) ECRF                                                   

18) Federal Secretariat                           

19) School Clinic                                       

20) Kisi                                                       

21) Esie                                                      

22) IHIMA                                                 

23) IVF                                                       

The Department of Pharmacy provides 24-hour coverage


 Drug procurement, storage, quality assurance, distribution, compounding, dispensing, ensuring rational use of drugs and providing pharmaceutical care are the responsibilities of pharmacists.


The pharmacists as an integral part of the health care team work with other members to promote optimal patient outcomes. Some of the services rendered include:

  1. Extemporaneous compounding
  2. Drug dispensing
  3. Patient education and counseling
  4. Pharmacovigillance
  5. Pharmacoeconomics
  6. Drug information
  7. Medication Therapy Management
  8. Pain Management
  9. Comprehensive Medication Review
  10. Adherence Counseling
  11. Clinical Drug Monitoring/Pharmaceutical Care
  12. Transition of Care

  The department has a total number of One hundred and two (102) permanent staff comprising:

  1. Pharmacists                          47
  2. Intern Pharmacists                40 (On mandatory one-year training)
  3. Pharmacy Technicians            20
  4. Admin                                  29
  5. Pharmacy attendance            6

Personnel in the department

This is divided into three major categories:

  1. Management: The Management staff which include the Director of Pharmaceutical Services, Deputy Directors, Assistant Directors and Chief pharmacists; who are responsible for the drug selection, procurement, distribution, and control of all the pharmaceuticals used within the institution and for the management of personnel within the pharmacy department.
  2. Professional staff: These include the Principal Pharmacists and Pharmacists 1 who ensure the smooth provision of Pharmaceutical services in the hospital.
  3. Pharmacy Technician: These personnel provide services in the department under the close supervision of registered pharmacists.
  4. Intern Pharmacists: Receive a mandatory one-year post graduation training in the department
  5. Corper Pharmacists: Serve in the department for a mandatory one-year National Youths Service Corps.
  6. Administrative staff: Provides clerical services.
  7. Supporting Staff: Assist in keeping the department running.

 Pharmacy Units

 The department has 23 decentralized units; each is headed by a pharmacist in the management cadre.